Researching your options for debt collection can be a daunting task. Collection laws in Washington are complex, so it makes sense to work with a collection agency that knows Washington.
Washington Collection Laws Interest Rate
Washington Collection Laws Statute Of Limitations
Washington Collection Laws Bad Check Laws (NSF) (Civil Penalty)
|Lesser of check amount or 12% interest, collection costs up to $40. If taken to court, reasonable attorney’s fees, 3 x value, or up to $300. Now have 6 years to enforce a bad check
Washington Collection Laws General Garnishment Exemptions
|Greater of 75% or $64 wk. (40 x state minimum hourly wage)
Washington Collection Laws Collection Agency Bond & Licensing Rules
||$6000 general, $4000 specialty
||$100 – Investigation, $100 – Original, $100 – Renewable, $50 – Branch Office
|Exemption for out-of-state collectors: Contact state authorities. Out-of-state agencies may qualify for lesser licensing fees. Out-of-state collectors are no longer required to have resident office and instate trust accounts if they don’t have instate client. Bond is not required if held in home state.
Disclaimer: While we strive to keep our state resource data accurate and up-to-date, the information contained on this page is provided without any warranty (expressed or implied), and should not be considered legal advice. We assume no liability for its use.
Convert more aged receivables into bottom-line revenue.
Our experienced collections specialists provide the best of both worlds: collection rates up to double the industry average, but with a delicate touch to protect your company’s relationships and good name. Schedule a free no-obligation consultation and learn how Summit A•R can put your balance sheets back in the black.
Get Started ›