Successfully collecting on your delinquent accounts is easiest when you work with a collection agency that’s familiar with the ins and outs of Maryland collection law. A Maryland collection agency can dramatically improve your chances of a successful debt recovery.
Time is of the essence when it comes to Maryland collections. For the best chances of a successful recovery, it’s important to contact a qualified debt collection agency at the first sign of trouble.
Maryland Collection Laws Interest Rate
||10% or contractual
Maryland Collection Laws Statute Of Limitations
Maryland Collection Laws Bad Check Laws (NSF) (Civil Penalty)
|After 30 day written notice, amount due, $25 fee, twice check amount up to $1000. (At the discretion of the court.) Applies to COD sales only.
Maryland Collection Laws General Garnishment Exemptions
|Greater of 75% or amount = to $145 x no. of wks. in which wages due were earned; except in Caroline, Worchester, Kent & Queen Anne’s Counties, see federal law. Exemption is up to $3,000 in cash and/or property for non-wage property exemption.
Maryland Collection Laws Collection Agency Bond & Licensing Rules
||$200 each office
Disclaimer: While we strive to keep our state resource data accurate and up-to-date, the information contained on this page is provided without any warranty (expressed or implied), and should not be considered legal advice. We assume no liability for its use.
Convert more aged receivables into bottom-line revenue.
Our experienced collections specialists provide the best of both worlds: collection rates up to double the industry average, but with a delicate touch to protect your company’s relationships and good name. Schedule a free no-obligation consultation and learn how Summit A•R can put your balance sheets back in the black.
Get Started ›